Tokyo Day 10 & 11 (Final Day!) (26th & 27th Feb)

Don’t read this post if your hungry.

Didn’t really do much these two days except relaxing around and eating a lot and doing some snack shopping. Totally not used to the pace back in Tokyo after being out of the city for so many days. Nua-ed in bed till late morning and only left at around 10+am.

Headed to Shinjuku and walked around Bic Camera and Tokyu Hands till lunch.

Lunch! One of my best discovery ever for this trip. A la carte wagyu beef slices yakiniku. Was searching for places to eat yakiniku and came across this restaurant, Jiroumaru .

It’s a standing bar style where you order the type of meat and the side dishes you want, and you grill it yourself. Not recommended if your coming in a big group as it could only accommodate 10(?) after squeezing.

Each slice of beef ranges from 30 yen (?! can you believe it ?!) all the way to 300 yen.

20170226_133611.jpg

The list of “menu” behind the chef/butcher  

If you can’t understand or speak Japanese, there is a waiter there that could converse in decent English and you can get him to recommend you which slices to get which was what I did. If you don’t eat organ meats, do tell him to exclude “Horumon” as well, which stands for organ meats.

20170226_131417.jpg

The Tongue  

The was the only slice which I could remember which part it came from. Really flavorful, the best I ever had.

20170226_131616.jpg

A4 & A5 Shimofuri Wagyu

Look at that marbling *insert hearts here* . Cant remember which area the cow came from but nonetheless it was still good too. The A5 wagyu was too fatty for my liking but the A4 was just nice. Truly melt-in-your-mouth

20170226_132150.jpg20170226_132154.jpg

The other cuts was a mix of different parts which I can’t remember as well 😛 Overall it was really satisfying and value for money too. Total came at about 3xxx yen with a few side dishes like rice, cabbage, mushroom and drinks.

Highly recommended for solo travelers or small eaters as you could order base on how much you can eat, you can order A4/A5 wagyu by the slice affordably and try out a variety of different cuts as well!

After lunch, went to do some shopping for my family and went back to my hostel to offload all my shopping. Rested awhile and left again for dinner.

Wanted to experience a Edomae Sushi Omakase and found this relatively affordable restaurant plus had good reviews too, Mantenzushi.

Had a total of 26 items, including cooked food. Sushi was fresh and done well, had a really good and full meal. I can’t say how it compares to others at the top of the game but I dare say its a good introduction to someone who has not experienced it before.

The chef was a young guy and was able to explain to me the dishes in English to me. But when I tried to converse with him, only question marks appeared ?__?

16906262_419920751679360_3598609280338493440_n.jpg

What I had:

  • Scallop
  • Marinated Seaweed
  • Sea Robin
  • Octopus
  • Spanish Mackerel
  • Enoki Mushroom
  • Wasabi leafs
  • Yuba Tofu
  • Mackerel
  • Abalone
  • Ice Fish
  • Tuna
  • Harihari Zuke (Dried Daikon)
  • Kanazawa Octopus
  • Wasabi Flavoured Cod Roe Aburi
  • Japanese Barracuda
  • Salmon Roe + Crab rice
  • Japanese Imperial Prawn
  • Fatty Tuna
  • Hokkaido Sea Urchin
  • Aomori Sea Urchin
  • Clam Miso Soup
  • Anago
  • Kanpyo Maki
  • Negitoro Hand Roll
  • Strawberry

All these for just 6000 Yen. A total steal for a meal like this I would say.

Day 11!

Finally the last day of my holiday. Sad that I have to leave Japan but what can I do D:

Packed my luggage with a heavy heart and checked out early in the morning. Left my luggage with the hostel and will collect it later after breakfast.

Went to tsukiji for breakfast. But unlike what everyone does, I am not here for the sushi but rather for tendon at tenfusa, just beside the 2 famous Sushi Dai and Sushi Daiwa. Me walking into Tenfusa, I was totally laughing and judging in my mind all of those who was queuing endlessly to eat sushi.

20170227_095458.jpg

Mad queue for sushi

20170227_094407.jpg

Tendon at Tenfusa. Simple yet satisfying

20170227_095820.jpg

20170227_100218.jpg

Giant slab of tuna omg 

20170227_100353.jpg

Expensive white strawberry 

20170227_101429.jpg

Tamagoyaki, no words can describe my love for Tamago

20170227_102054.jpg

Must come back and try this stall, famous for their Uni

Took a short walk around Tsukiji before heading back to my hostel to get my luggage and leave for the airport!

さよなら日本, I will be back! 

Leave a Reply

